我们的信仰



"赛马的最终目标是乐趣,我们努力工作,确保马主们在马匹成长的每一阶段都能充分参与,充分知情。"
活侯夫人

与纯血马终身相伴、对知识的渴求和对其马匹诉求的仔细聆听使活侯夫人在这一具有竞争性的行业中占有一席之地。她将传统和创新有机结合,跻身世界最受尊敬的练马师行列。

专注、决心、奉献和纪律是活侯夫人父亲T.J 史密斯打破一项项世界纪录的“四大法宝”,也是活侯夫人的立身准则。

然而对于活侯夫人来说,训练冠军马匹不仅仅是一项生意,她以与马主频繁交流而闻名,为赛马运动注入了自己的特色,就像她自己经常用法语描述的---赛马是“生命之快乐”(a joie de vivre)。

Tulloch Lodge---行业领军



活侯夫人驻扎于澳洲赛马的中心—悉尼兰德维克赛马场 (Randwick racetrack),其总部位于有“冠军之源”之称的图洛赫马房。
除了图洛赫马房外,活侯夫人在唐凯思特大道 (Doncaster Avenue)拥有超级现代化的Bounding Away马房,从该马房可直接通向兰德维克赛马场。她在澳洲其他大城市安装卫星设备,能使她一年四季更好地安置马匹,最后取得好成绩。

自1978年起,活侯夫人便与其父亲一起在图洛赫马房全职工作。她随后在1992年获得练马师执照,并最终成为兰德维克顶尖练马师。

活侯夫人马房每天于早上3:15开始工作,她表示:“父亲总是喜欢早上第一个来到马房,我想他是正确的。赶在别人之前是有好处的,我相信马儿们会感谢我们给他们一个充分清洁、平整的跑道。”


与纯血马终身相伴、对知识的渴求和对其马匹诉求的仔细聆听使活侯夫人在这一具有竞争性的行业中占有一席之地。她将传统和创新有机结合,跻身世界最受尊敬的练马师行列。

活侯夫人表示:“我的父亲T.J 史密斯是现代练马技术的先驱,极大地改变了当前对马匹营养和健康的看法,其著名的”骨头和肌肉”管理体制产出了许多优良马匹。他教给了我许多东西,我把他教给我的宝贵财富和自身风格相结合。我认为我的参赛纪录归功于结合我们两人哲学的精华。我努力工作因为这是我热爱的事业,我希望成为该领域最优秀的。”

活侯夫人鼓励客户们多多参与,欢迎他们来观看马匹训练、试闸和参加马房开放日。

历史悠久的马房



图洛赫马房位于肯辛顿宝柔街,是活侯夫人赛马团队的总部所在地。这里是许多过往和当前冠军马匹的摇篮,和临近的超现代化Bounding Away马房、位于唐凯思特大道的Tempest Morn Lodge、以及位于英利殊纯血马拍卖行附近的Chiltern马房同时运作。

活侯夫人的每个马房都历史悠久、特色鲜明。

马匹们被放置在最能让他们开心的地方并能直接通向牧场。马厩可谓“豪华配置”,拥有稻草铺地,优质的食物、照料和监督。

活侯夫人在墨尔本弗莱明顿赛马场也有马房。

兰德维克赛马场—澳洲赛马中心



兰德维克赛马场的训练设施无与伦比。活侯夫人的训练方法结合使用多种类型的赛道、在马匹游泳池和附近的植物学湾 (Botany Bay) 游泳、牵引马匹走山路 (这也形成了兰德维克赛马场后方一道独特的风景)、跑步机和其他现代辅助手段。所有马匹都会定期称重。

活侯夫人热烈欢迎所有的马主们前来观看马匹晨操,快跳在早上4:30准时开始!

"父亲总是喜欢早上第一个来到马房,我想他是正确的。我相信马儿们会感谢我们给他们一个充分清洁、平整的跑道。"




      

Connect

Our Beliefs



"Above all, racing should be great fun, and we work hard to ensure our owners are involved and informed every step of the way."
Gai Waterhouse

A lifetime with thoroughbreds, a thirst for knowledge and the ability to truly listen to her four-legged charges have given Gai a distinct edge in a competitive profession. She has successfully combined tradition and innovation to establish herself amongst the world's most respected trainers.

Dedication, determination, devotion and discipline - the famous "four Ds" that enabled Gai's legendary father T J Smith to break world records - are the hallmarks of Gai's approach.

But training winners is much more than just a business for Gai. She has a reputation for unsurpassed communication with owners, bringing to racing her own special panache and - in her own words - a joie de vivre

Tulloch Lodge - Ahead Of The Rest



Gai Waterhouse is based at the epicentre of Australian racing at Sydney’s Randwick racetrack, with headquarters at historic Tulloch Lodge, a proven source of champions.

As well as Tulloch Lodge, Gai has the ultra-modern Bounding Away Stables on Doncaster Avenue with direct access to Randwick racetrack, while satellite arrangements in other capital cities enable Gai to place horses to best advantage year round with excellent results.

Gai has worked full-time at Tulloch Lodge since 1978 alongside her father, before gaining her licence in 1992 and ultimately taking the reins as leading Randwick trainer.

"Dad always liked to be first at morning trackwork and I think he’s right," says Gai of the stable where the day begins at 3.15am. "There are advantages to being ahead of the rest and I am sure the horses appreciate a freshly groomed and even course."


A lifetime with thoroughbreds, a thirst for knowledge and the ability to truly listen to her four-legged charges have given Gai a distinct edge in a competitive profession. She has successfully combined tradition and innovation to establish herself among the world’s most respected trainers.

"TJ pioneered modern training methods, dramatically altering current thinking about horse nutrition and health and he was renowned for the "bone-and-muscle" regime that produced fit horses," says Gai. "There are so many things he taught me and I have blended his incredible legacy with my own style. I think my record is a tribute to the philosophy of combining the best of both worlds. And I work hard at what I do because I love doing it, and I want to be the best."

Gai’s clients are encouraged to participate and are welcome to attend trackwork, barrier trials and open days at the stables.

Stables Steeped In History



Tulloch Lodge in Bowral Street, Kensington, is the headquarters of Gai Waterhouse Racing Stables. This home to a multitude of past and present champions runs in conjunction with the nearby ultra-modern Bounding Away and Tempest Morn Lodges on Doncaster Avenue, and Chiltern Stables adjacent to the William Inglis & Son Sale Complex.

Each yard has its own celebrated history and unique character.

The horses are accommodated where they are happiest. They have access to day yards, are housed on luxurious straw bedding and provided with superior feed, care and supervision.

Gai also has boxes at Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne.

Royal Randwick - Epicentre of Australian Racing



Training facilities at Royal Randwick are second-to-none. Gai's techniques incorporate using a variety of track surfaces, swimming, both in the equine pool and at nearby Botany Bay, handwalking her horses over the hills which form Randwick's backdrop, treadmill work and many other modern aids. All horses are weighed regularly.

Owners are welcome to attend early-morning trackwork sessions, with gallops commencing around 4.30 a.m.!

"Dad always liked to be first at morning trackwork and I think he's right", says Gai. "I am sure the horses appreciate a freshly groomed and even course."

If you would like to know more about the Gai Waterhouse Racing Stables daily schedule, please click here to watch the "A Day in the Life" Video.



      

Connect